Finding The Spark…Feeling The Inspiration.

SPark

 

I was having a heartfelt and meaningful conversation with my friend about cats, when she asked me what inspires me to keep working out and pushing myself as hard as I do…I had to think about it for a second and I blurted out a few things just because I didn’t want to get too deep into the topic because I wanted to get back to the cat conversation…

But now that I have some time on my hands I thought I would explain what the “Spark”  is that drives me to do what I do and why I push myself so hard .

I have never and will never be Inspired by celebrities, who have personal chefs, personal trainers, nutritionists, and the time to devote 24 hours a day to getting healthy. I will admit “time”  is one thing I am fortunate enough to have, it certainly makes it easier for me to devote myself to this lifestyle I live.

I AM Inspired by normal people who have the same struggles like everyone else, yet they commit themselves to doing everything they can to build a better life for themselves.

I am NOT Inspired by the guy in the gym who loads up 350 lbs. on the Smith Machine and does  “Power Curtsies.”  (Which are squats that aren’t really squats, they just drop a few inches)

I AM Inspired by the guy who was in his sixties doing deadlifts with 400 pounds, and after talking to him and hearing his story of losing over 200 pounds of fat and seeing where he is today was Inspirational.

I AM Inspired by the lady, whose kids are in the gym daycare, who is squatting 125 pounds and is squatting the right way …Low and Slow.

I am NOT Inspired by people who say they have it all figured out.

I AM Inspired by the people who are working their asses off every day trying to figure it out.

I AM Inspired by those people who tell me  “I’ve failed before, which means this time things will be different.”

I AM Inspired by people who took a crappy situation, accepted personal responsibility and changed their fate or got into  “Beast Mode”  and made the most of it.

I AM Inspired by those people who refuse to fall victim to the “Good Enough Syndrome”  Instead they compare themselves to who they were yesterday and much better they are today, and plan to be even better tomorrow.

And I truly AM Inspired by those people who have faced personal tragedy such as the loss of a limb or being confined to a wheelchair yet have never given up, and work every day bettering themselves instead of feeling sorry for themselves.

If you don’t have it all figured out, don’t worry…Nobody does!

If you find yourself struggling to see progress, don’t forget to give yourself a quiet  “Fist Pump”  for even getting skin in the game in the first place. I had no clue what I was doing ten years ago, and to this day I am still learning. But every day is a new opportunity to learn, adjust and adapt.

Someone once told me that Perfection is the enemy of progress. Waiting for the perfect opportunity or the perfect plan will result in nothing ever happening. Do what you can to Educate yourself, but put one foot in front of the other, and figure things out as you go. That’s how I do it and YES, I make mistakes, but you have to start in order to know what needs to be done to finish.

Don’t be afraid to fail. Just be sure to fail differently next time, learn from your mistakes.

Find your Inspiration, Find what drives you to be the best version of YOU that you can be. Always remember there is no finish line in the pursuit of a healthy and better YOU, It’s a lifelong process, so never give up on yourself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

