Today Will Be A Fantastic Day…

wetewt

 

Today is going to be a fantastic day, there really isn’t anything special about today, it’s just a normal day…But what makes today fantastic is that I  “Awoke”, when I went to sleep last night, that could have been the last time my eyes ever opened, I could have passed in my sleep and I would have been none the wiser, but thankfully I  “Awoke”.

I was giving another chance to do something special, I was given a gift, some people take this precious gift we all are given each and every day for granted. They will find reasons why their day sucked, why they were not able to enjoy this gift, and some just can’t wait for the day to get over with. I feel bad for these people, sure we all have rough days, days when nothing seems to go right, days that never seem to end. But that’s what happens when we only focus on the negative things that have happened to us, instead of also looking at all of the amazing, wonderful, precious things we sometimes ignore.

If I wasn’t given another day, like I have been today, I would not have been able to see my kids, I wouldn’t have been able to play indoor basketball like I do every day with my youngest, we turned the upstairs into a mini-basketball court, I installed a basketball hoop on the wall, and the wood floors make our court complete.  I no longer have a dining room table or a hutch, they are gone since they got in the way of our fun, and this time spent playing with my youngest is priceless.

If I didn’t wake up today I would have missed out on seeing my amazing almost 18 year old, who is already far wiser and more compassionate than I will ever be, he will be going off to college in a few months, and my heart will break, a piece of me will always feel empty and that piece will be next to the piece missing for my oldest son, who is already off at college on his way towards being a Doctor or PhD…I miss him every single day, but my pride for his accomplishments helps temper the pain.

So no matter how rough a day I may have, no matter how many things go wrong, I am thankful for every minute of it, because that is just one more minute of being a  “Dad”  to three amazing young men. So every morning I wake up, I’m thankful, I know the day will be fantastic, regardless of what I have to do because I know I was given a gift.

Enjoy and Appreciate the gifts in your day my friends.

Leave a Reply

