Some People Always Have To Be The Center Of Attention…

FFF

 

 

There’s always someone out there who is trying to be the center of attention. They are constantly doing things to get people to look at them and listen to what they have to say, no matter how insignificant their point may be. Well, let me just say that’s certainly not me. I have no desire to call attention to myself.

I’m not completely sure what it is about me, but I have always tried to keep a low profile. It might be my incredible sense of Humility, or possibly my amazing self-confidence, but really whatever it is, one thing I know for sure I have never felt the need to be the center of attention. If all those other people want to fight for the spotlight, they can, it’s a free country, right? But I will just be content to stand quietly on the sidelines while others grab the glory.

Although, I certainly could, I’m not going to go on and on about my ability to lift heavy pieces of Iron, my cooking abilities, my ability to take the perfect Selfie the very first try, my mastery of the game Killer Bunnies and my Amazing Cat. Or the fact that I go out of my way to help women in distress or my impressive collection of signed  “Happy Days”  memorabilia. But, that’s not my style. And why would anyone want to know that I have three Amazing and Brilliant children, or that I volunteer giving women massages at the gym, or that I like to take walks in the woods so I can be at peace with nature. And what’s more, who on earth would care about my committed work with blind strippers, my opposition to ISIS, my support of the Nudism or my strong Patriotic beliefs.

I just can’t stand it when people are so self-absorbed and feel inclined to keep yapping on and on about themselves, I know I’m certainly not going to do it.

For example take last week’s meeting of  “The Incredible Minds of Helena”  club, the first thing I did when I got up to the podium after being nominated for the third week in a row as the  “Most Incredible of the Incredibles”  I told everyone that I wasn’t going to stand up here and self-indulgently ramble on for the next hour. To do so would have been ridiculous, because I truly value the thoughts and opinions of the other Incredibles just as much as my own, so I kept my speech to a quick 48 minutes, cause I didn’t want to waste everyone’s time going on about nothing just to draw out every last second of my precious, fleeting time in the spotlight…Nope, that’s not how I roll…I’m better than that…No way would I do that…No how.

But some people are like that, they are in love with the sound of their own voice.

Good thing that I have never had that kind of desperate, almost pathological need to be the center of attention, to be heard by others no matter how insignificant the content of my message…Ahh, some people I tell ya.

Leave a Reply

